Prometheus Award Ceremony August 13 via Zoom

The Libertarian Futurist Society’s annual awards ceremony will take place online this year via Zoom, on 13 August, starting at 2 PM Eastern Daylight Savings Time (1 PM Central, noon Mountain, 11 AM Pacific). The Best Novel Award will be given to Wil McCarthy for Rich Man’s Sky, and the Hall of Fame Award to Robert A. Heinlein for Citizen of the Galaxy.

Joining us as presenters will be past Prometheus Award winners Travis Corcoran and F. Paul Wilson.

Sf novelist Travis Corcoran (Photo courtesy of author)

Corcoran has won the Prometheus Award twice, for his novels The Powers of the Earth and Causes of Separation; he will present the Best Novel Award.

F. Paul Wilson has won five awards for his novels Wheels within Wheels (the first winner), Healer, An Enemy of the State, and Sims and his short story “Lipidleggin’.”

Wilson is also one of four recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award, along with Poul Anderson, L. Neil Smith, and Vernor Vinge. He will present the Hall of Fame Award.

Watch videos of past Prometheus Awards ceremonies, Libertarian Futurist Society panel discussions with noted sf authors and leading libertarian writers, and other LFS programs on the Prometheus Blog’s Video page.

* Prometheus winners: For the list of Prometheus winners, finalists and nominees – for the annual Best Novel and Best Classic Fiction (Hall of Fame) categories and occasional Special Awards – visit the enhanced Prometheus Awards page on the LFS website, which now includes convenient links to the full set of published appreciation-reviews of past winners.

* Read “The Libertarian History of Science Fiction,” an essay in the international magazine Quillette that favorably highlights the Prometheus Awards, the Libertarian Futurist Society and the significant element of libertarian sf/fantasy in the evolution of the modern genre.

Join us! To help sustain the Prometheus Awards, join the Libertarian Futurist Society (LFS), a non-profit all-volunteer association of freedom-loving sf/fantasy fans.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.