Videos: The 2019 Prometheus Award ceremony at the Worldcon in Dublin

The Prometheus Award this year went to Causes of Separation by Travis Corcoran, while the Prometheus Hall of Fame Award was won by “Harrison Bergeron” by Kurt Vonnegut Jr.

The awards were presented at the 77th World Science Fiction Convention, held in Dublin, Ireland, August 15-19 2019, by two members of the Libertarian Futurist Society, Fred Moulton and John Christmas.
If you didn’t make it to the Worldcon, you can watch our (three) videos to witness the event.

In the videos below, Fred is the gentleman on the left, while John is on the right. I had to use headphones to hear the audio clearly; your mileage may vary.

— Tom Jackson

The beginning of the ceremony. 

Reading of Travis Corcoran’s acceptance speech. 

Award presentation for Vonnegut’s short story.

* Join us! To help sustain the Prometheus Awards, join the Libertarian Futurist Society (LFS), a non-profit association of libertarian sf/fantasy fans and freedom-lovers.
Libertarian futurists believe cultural change is as vital as political change (and often more fun!) in achieving universal individual rights and a better world (perhaps eventually, worlds) for all.

* Coming up next on the Prometheus Blog: A 40thAnniversary Retrospective: Introducing a Reader’s Guide to the Prometheus Award Winners, a new chronological series of retrospective Appreciations of each past winner, starting with the Best Novel category, first presented in 1979.

2 thoughts on “Videos: The 2019 Prometheus Award ceremony at the Worldcon in Dublin”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.