Introducing the new Prometheus Award badges for finalists, winners

“Guess what, I’m a winner!”

Or: “Guess what, I’m a finalist!”

From now on, Prometheus Awards finalists and winners will have an optional extra way to publicize their honor: an official LFS awards badge.

Award Finalists and Winners have expressed a desire for a way to help them emphasize their accomplishment, and the Libertarian Futurist Society is proud to provide award badges to support that desire.

LFS board member Charlie Morrison seized the initiative to create an attractive visual aid and symbol to enhance Prometheus Awards publicity and outreach efforts by making the two Prometheus badges available to authors and publishers recognized as finalists or winners through our awards program.

You might see these badges on an author’s blog or publisher’s web page, highlighting the particular work of fiction that has been recognized via the Prometheus Awards.

In future years, all the Best Novel and Hall of Fame finalists will receive the badge image, along with a guidelines sheet, to post as soon as the finalists in each Prometheus Awards category are announced.

Once a finalist is selected by LFS members as that year’s winner, Prometheus-winning authors will be notified and given the image to post long-term on the page of their blog or website that features their winning work of fiction.

Here’s an excerpt from the LFS Brand Usage guidelines sheet, that will be sent to finalists and winners along with the appropriate badge:

“This page contains information that Prometheus Award finalists and winners may quote, and award badges/images they can use on their websites, blogs, and social media posts.

Distinctive Focus of the Prometheus Awards:
The Prometheus Awards focus on sf/fantasy and speculative fiction, broadly defined, whose plots, themes, characters and issues dramatize the perennial conflicts and tensions between Liberty and Power; reflect the civilizing and nurturing value of freedom; champion the virtues and benefits of private voluntary cooperation over institutionalized State coercion; recognize the monstrous evils of tyranny, slavery, war and other forms of violence and coercion enforced by governments throughout history; and seriously or satirically critique abuses of power and human-rights violations — especially through unchecked government power.

The Libertarian Futurist Society and the Prometheus Awards are based on a positive and realistic but optimistic vision of human possibilities that champions mutual respect for every person’s individual rights as the true and strongest foundation for peace, prosperity, progress, justice, tolerance, civility, and civilization itself.

For a list of past finalists and winners, visit the Libertarian Futurist Society at

The Libertarian Futurist Society board has developed and has approved a set of guidelines for proper use of the new badges.

Here’s an excerpt of the conditions of use that apply to Prometheus finalists (or winners):

“Prometheus Award finalists (or winners) for either award may use the following badge to promote the award finalist in digital media on the Internet, providing that the page or article includes a link to either the main LFS website ( or to the LFS blog post that announced the work as a finalist.

Finalists (and winners) may not:

1. Include the badge in digital media that does not directly pertain to the work that was a finalist.

2. Make any changes to the badge, or use any portions of the badge separately.

3. Include the badge in print advertising (covers of books, leaflets, etc.)

NOTE: Past Prometheus winners are welcome to contact the LFS to receive their own copies of the winner’s badge, so that they can add it to their own author’s blogs or websites.)


As a reminder to LFS members and others, Hall of Fame finalists are typically selected from nominees by January of each year by the Prometheus Hall of Fame Finalist Judging Committee, chaired by LFS President William H. Stoddard.

Best Novel finalists, meanwhile, are usually selected from nominees by late March or early April by the Prometheus Best Novel Finalist Judging Committee, chaired by LFS co-founder Michael Grossberg

Throughout the year, LFS members may nominate works for either of the annual Prometheus awards categories or for the occasional Special Prometheus Awards, for the finalist judges to consider.

Authors, publishers and fans also may submit eligible works for consideration for potential nomination. For more details, what required information to submit and who to contact, please read this submission-guidelines letter.

Currently, nominations are open for Best Novel, for any novels published in 2022, and for the Hall of Fame for Best Classic Fiction, for any works of fiction first published, broadcast, screened, staged or released at least 20 years ago.

Please nominate or suggest works for the Hall of Fame before Aug. 31. Contact William H. Stoddard at

The annual Best Novel nominating deadline is Feb. 15, for works published during the previous calendar year, but please notify the committee as soon as possible if you come across a work worth nominating or considering for possible nomination. Contact Michael Grossberg at

Watch the videos of past Prometheus Awards ceremonies, Libertarian Futurist Society panel discussions with noted sf authors and leading libertarian writers, and other LFS programs on the Prometheus Blog’s Video page.

* Prometheus winners: For the list of Prometheus winners, finalists and nominees – for the annual Best Novel and Best Classic Fiction (Hall of Fame) categories and occasional Special Awards – visit the enhanced Prometheus Awards page on the LFS website, which now includes convenient links to the full set of published appreciation-reviews of past winners.

* Read “The Libertarian History of Science Fiction,” an essay in the international magazine Quillette that favorably highlights the Prometheus Awards, the Libertarian Futurist Society and the significant element of libertarian sf/fantasy in the evolution of the modern genre.

Join us! To help sustain the Prometheus Awards, join the Libertarian Futurist Society (LFS), a non-profit all-volunteer association of freedom-loving sf/fantasy fans.



Published by

Michael Grossberg

Michael Grossberg, who founded the LFS in 1982 to help sustain the Prometheus Awards, has been an arts critic, speaker and award-winning journalist for five decades. Michael has won Ohio SPJ awards for Best Critic in Ohio and Best Arts Reporting (seven times). He's written for Reason, Libertarian Review and Backstage weekly; helped lead the American Theatre Critics Association for two decades; and has contributed to six books, including critical essays for the annual Best Plays Theatre Yearbook and an afterword for J. Neil Schulman's novel The Rainbow Cadenza. Among books he recommends from a libertarian-futurist perspective: Matt Ridley's The Rational Optimist & How Innovation Works, David Boaz's The Libertarian Mind and Steven Pinker's Enlightenment Now: The Case for Reason, Science, Humanism and Progress.

One thought on “Introducing the new Prometheus Award badges for finalists, winners”

  1. YaY Winners! Congratulations on your victory – and thank you for making it possible for fans to still have a true voice in literature!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.