The Libertarian Futurist Society has selected five finalists for the 2021 Hall of Fame Award. This year's finalists are:

In addition to these nominees, the Prometheus Hall of Fame Finalist Judging Committee considered five other works: Watership Down, by Richard Adams; The End of Eternity, by Isaac Asimov; Time Will Run Back/The Great Idea, by Henry Hazlitt; director Nicholas Roeg's film The Man Who Fell to Earth (based on a novel by Walter Tevis); and A Time of Changes, by Robert Silverberg.

The final vote will take place in mid-2021. All Libertarian Futurist Society members are eligible to vote. The award will be presented at a major science fiction convention.

Nominations for the 2021 Hall of Fame Award can be submitted to committee chair William H. Stoddard ( at any time. All LFS members are eligible to nominate. Nominees may be in any narrative or dramatic form, including prose fiction, stage plays, film, television, other video, graphic novels, song lyrics, or epic or narrative verse; they must explore themes relevant to libertarianism and must be science fiction, fantasy, or related genres.

First presented in 1979 (for Best Novel) and presented annually since 1982, the Prometheus Awards have recognized outstanding works of science fiction and fantasy that dramatize the perennial conflict between Liberty and Power, favor private social cooperation over legalized coercion, expose abuses and excesses of obtrusive government, critique or satirize authoritarian ideas, or champion individual rights and freedoms as the mutually respectful foundation for peace, prosperity, progress, justice, tolerance, civility, and civilization itself.

The awards include gold coins and plaques for the winners for Best Novel, Best Classic Fiction (Hall of Fame), and occasional Special Awards. The Prometheus Award is one of the most enduring awards after the Nebula and Hugo awards, and one of the oldest fan-based awards currently in sf.

The LFS welcomes new members who are interested in science fiction and the future of freedom. More information is available at our website,


Share on Facebook

All trademarks and copyrights property of their owners.
All else copyright LFS 2003-2014
January 2014