The Libertarian Futurist Society has announced that Daniel Suarez’ novel Influx has won the Prometheus Award for Best Novel (of 2015).

The award will be presented Friday afternoon Aug. 21 during Sasquan, the 73rd annual World Science Fiction Convention August 19-23, 2015 in Spokane, Washington.

Influx, the fourth techno-thriller by Daniel Suarez (Dutton Adult, Feb. 20, 2014), dramatizes the evils of totalitarian government control over people's lives by depicting a government so concerned about politically destabilizing and potentially dangerous innovations that it creates the Bureau of Technology Control to manage the introduction of new technologies. Inventors who don't follow their edicts are sentenced to a high-tech prison with fiendishly oppressive use of new technology. To end the impending new dark age, the prisoners must fight ruthless individuals already living in our future and armed with mind-blowing genetic technology.

This was Suarez’s second Prometheus award nomination, following Kill Decision, which was a Prometheus Award finalist in 2013.

The other Best Novel finalists were The Three-Body Problem, by Liu Cixin (TOR Books), Raising Steam, by Terry Pratchett (Knopf Doubleday) and A Better World, by Marcus Sakey (Amazon, Thomas & Mercer.)

Ten novels were nominated for this year's award, including these other nominees: The Break, by Sean Gabb (The Hampden Press), The Little Green Book of Chairman Rahma, by Brian Herbert (TOR Books), Counteract, by Tracy Lawson (Buddapuss Ink), The Stars Came Back, by Rolf Nelson (Castalia House), The Collection: A Registry Novel, by Shannon Stoker (William Morrow/Harper Collins); and Archetype, by M.D. Waters (Plume/Dutton).

The Prometheus awards, sponsored by the Libertarian Futurist Society (LFS), honor outstanding science fiction/fantasy that explores the possibilities of a free future, champions human rights (including personal and economic liberty), dramatizes the perennial conflict between individuals and coercive governments, or critiques the tragic consequences of abuse of power - especially by the State.

The Prometheus Award was established by novelist L. Neil Smith in 1979, making it one of the most enduring awards after the Nebula and Hugo awards, and one of the oldest fan-based awards currently in sf. Presented annually since 1982 at the World Science Fiction Convention, the Prometheus Awards include a gold coin and plaque for the winners.

For a full list of past Prometheus Award winners in all categories, including Best Novel, Best Classic Fiction (Hall of Fame) and occasional Special Awards, visit

Membership in the Libertarian Futurist Society is open to any science fiction fan interested in how fiction can promote a greater appreciation of the value of liberty.

For more information, contact LFS Board President William H. Stoddard (

All trademarks and copyrights property of their owners.
All else copyright LFS 2003-2014
January 2014