For IMMEDIATE RELEASE, April 7, 2013


The Libertarian Futurist Society will present its Prometheus Awards ceremony Labor Day weekend at the World Science Fiction Convention. Winners for Best Novel and Best Classic Fiction (Hall of Fame) will be presented in San Antonio, Texas at LoneStarCon3, the 71st Annual World Science Fiction Convention to be held from August 29th through September 2, 2013. We are happy to announce the finalists for the Prometheus Best Novel award and for the Hall of Fame award.

The Prometheus finalists for Best Novel recognize pro-freedom novels published in the last year. The finalists in the Best Novel category of this year's Prometheus Award, for the best pro-freedom novel of 2013 are (in alphabetical order by author): * Arctic Rising, by Tobias Buckell (TOR Books) * The Unincorporated Future, by Dani and Eytan Kollin (TOR Books) * Pirate Cinema by Cory Doctorow (TOR Books) * Darkship Renegades, by Sarah Hoyt (Baen Books) * Kill Decision, by Daniel Suarez (Dutton - Penguin)

Twelve novels published in 2013 were nominated for this year's Best Novel category. The other nominees were Hydrogen Sonata by Iain Banks (Orbit Books), In the Lion's Mouth, by Michael Flynn (TOR Books), Rob Seablue and the Eye of Tantalus by Russell Hasan (Amazon Kindle), AI Apocalypse, by William Hertling (Liquididea Press), Chimera, by T.C.McCarthy (Orbit), Constellation Game, by Leonard Richardson (Amazon Kindle), and Midst Toil and Tribulation by David Weber (Tor Books).

For more than three decades, the Prometheus Awards have recognized outstanding works of science fiction and fantasy that stress the importance of liberty as the foundation for civilization, peace, prosperity, progress and justice. The Prometheus Hall of Fame award for Best Classic Fiction honors novels, novellas, stories, graphic novels, anthologies, films, TV shows/series, plays, poems, music recordings and other works of fiction first published or broadcast more than five years ago. The 2013 finalists for the Hall of Fame award are:

For more information, contact LFS Publicity Chair Chris Hibbert (

To submit 2013 novels for consideration and possible nomination by LFS members, contact Michael Grossberg, Best Novel finalist judging committee chair ( or 614-236-5040).

To propose works published more than five years ago for the Hall of Fame, contact William H. Stoddard, Hall of Fame finalist judging committee chair (

More information is available at

All trademarks and copyrights property of their owners.
All else copyright LFS 2003-2014
January 2014