The Libertarian Futurist Society will present its Prometheus Awards ceremony in September at the World Science Fiction Convention, which will be held in Melbourne, Australia from September 2nd to September 6th, 2010. We are happy to announce the finalists for the Best Novel award. The finalists for the Prometheus Hall of Fame award were announced in January.

The finalists in the Best Novel category of this year's Prometheus Award, for the best pro-freedom novel of 2009, are:

Eleven novels published in 2009 were nominated for this year's Best Novel category. The other nominees were The Prisoner, by Carlos Cortes (Bantam Spectra);The Good Humor Man, by Andrew Fox (Tachyon Publications); The Iron Web, by Larken Rose (Larken Rose); The Revolution Business: Book Five of the Merchant Princes by Charles Stross (TOR Books); Prophets: Apotheosis, by S. Andrew Swann (DAW); Ground Zero, by F. Paul Wilson (TOR Books).

The Prometheus Award, sponsored by the Libertarian Futurist Society (LFS), was established in 1979, making it one of the most enduring awards after the Nebula and Hugo awards, and one of the oldest fan-based awards currently in sf. Presented annually since 1982 at the World Science Fiction Convention, the Prometheus Awards include a gold coin and plaque for the winners.

The Prometheus awards honor outstanding science fiction/fantasy that explores the possibilities of a free future, champions human rights (including personal and economic liberty), dramatizes the perennial conflict between individuals and coercive governments, or critiques the tragic consequences of abuse of power--especially by the State.

For more information, contact LFS Board President Chris Hibbert (; Best Novel awards coordinator Michael Grossberg (; or Worldcon awards ceremony coordinator Fred Moulton (programming at our domain).

For a full list of past Prometheus Award winners in three categories, visit Membership in the LIbertarian Futurist Society is open to any science fiction fan interested in how fiction can promote an appreciation of the value of liberty.

All trademarks and copyrights property of their owners.
All else copyright LFS 2003-2014
January 2014