For immediate release (20 March 2006)

The Libertarian Futurist Society has announced finalists for this years Prometheus Awards, which will be presented during the World Science Fiction Convention August 23-27 in Anaheim, Calif.

The Prometheus finalists for Best Novel recognize pro-freedom novels published last year:
* Chainfire, by Terry Goodkind (TOR Books)
* Learning the World, by Ken MacLeod (TOR)
* 47, by Walter Mosley (Little, Brown and Company)
* The Hidden Family, by Charles Stross (TOR)
* The Black Arrow, by Vin Suprynowicz (Mountain Media)
* RebelFire: Out of the Gray Zone, by Claire Wolfe and Aaron Zelman (RebelFire Press)

Here are the 2006 Prometheus finalists for Best Classic Fiction (Hall of Fame), a category that honors novels, novellas, stories, graphic novels, anthologies, films, TV shows/series, plays, poems, music recordings and other works of fiction first published or broadcast more than five years ago:
* A Clockwork Orange, a novel (1963) by Anthony Burgess
* "As Easy as A.B.C.", a short story (1912) by Rudyard Kipling
* It Can't Happen Here, a novel (1936) by Sinclair Lewis
* V for Vendetta, a graphic novel (1990) by Alan Moore and David Lloyd
* The Lord of the Rings, a trilogy of novels (1954) by J.R.R. Tolkien

The Best Novel judging committee, chaired by Michael Grossberg, read 14 novels nominated by LFS members. The other Best Novel nominees: Reflex, by Stephen Gould (TOR); Noble Vision, by Gen LaGreca (Winged Victory Press); 3000 Years, by Richard Mgrdechian (iUniverse, Inc.); Accelerando, by Charles Stross (Ace/Putnam); Resurrection of Liberty, by Michael L. Wentz (Novalibre Publishing); Infernal, by F. Paul Wilson (Forge Books); The Weapon by Michael Z. Williamson (Baen Books); and Mists of Everness, by John C. Wright (TOR).

The Hall of Fame judging committee, chaired by Lynn Maners, selected the five Classic finalists after whittling down almost 20 nominees to a preliminary slate of 10 semifinalists. The other semifinalists: Circus World, a novel (1981) by Barry Longyear; Infinity Hold, a novel (1989) by Longyear; The Girl Who Owned a City, a young-adult novel (1977) by O.T. Nelson; Subspace Explorers, a novel (1965) by Edward E. Smith; and Even the Queen, a short story (1992) by Connie Willis.

LFS Board member Fred Moulton will lead the Worldcons Prometheus Awards ceremony, tentatively scheduled for Friday afternoon Aug. 25. For more information about the Worldcon, visit

For more information, contact LFS Board President Chris Hibbert (

All trademarks and copyrights property of their owners.
All else copyright LFS 2003-2014
January 2014