For immediate release: May 12, 2004

Libertarian Futurist Society announces Prometheus Award finalists, and Hall of Fame finalists.

The Libertarian Futurist Society has chosen finalists for its annual Prometheus Award for Best Novel and its annual Prometheus Hall of Fame for Classic Fiction. The winners will be announced at the 62nd World Science Fiction Convention, Noreascon Four in Boston, Massachusetts, September 26, 2004.

2004 Prometheus award finalists for Best Novel: (for novels published in 2003)
(alphabetized by author)
Naked Empire, by Terry Goodkind; (Tor Books)
The Pixel Eye
, by Paul Levinson (TOR Books)
Spin State, by Chris Moriarty. (Bantam Books)
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix" by J.K. Rowling (Scholastic Press)
Sims, by F. Paul Wilson ( Forge Books)

Hall of Fame finalist 2003-2004 award year

It Can't Happen Here, a novel by Sinclair Lewis
Lord of the Rings trilogy, novels by J.R. Tolkien
The Weapon Shops of Isher, a novel by A. E. Van Vogt
The Ungoverned, a short story by Vernor Vinge
The Book of Merlyn, a novel by T.H.White

Fourteen novels were nominated for this year's Prometheus Award for Best Novel.
The other nominees were:
The Anguished Dawn, a novel by James Hogan (Baen Books)
State of Disobedience, a novel by Tom Kratman (Baen Books)
Crossfire, a novel by Nancy Kress (Tor Books)
Hecate's Glory, a novel by Karen Michalson (Tor Books)
Quicksilver, a novel by Neal Stephenson (Harper Collins)
Ruled Brittania, a novel by Harry Turtledove (Roc/NAL/Penguin)
Red Thunder, a novel by John Varley (Ace Books)
Gateways, a novel by F. Paul Wilson (Forge)
The Holy Land, a novel by Robert Zubrin (Polaris Books)

About two dozen works were nominated for this years' Hall of Fame award, including novels, short stories, film and TV.

Both awards honor outstanding science fiction/fantasy that explores the possibilities of a free future, champions human rights (including personal and economic liberty), dramatizes the perennial conflict between individuals and coercive governments, or critiques the tragic consequences of abuse of power--especially by the State.

The Prometheus Award, sponsored by the Libertarian Futurist Society (LFS), was established in 1979, making it one of the most enduring awards after the Nebula and Hugo awards, and one of the oldest fan-based awards currently in sf. Presented annually since 1982 at the World Science Fiction Convention, the Prometheus Awards include a one once gold coin and plaque for the winners.

For more information, including a history of the award winners, visit the LFS website at or contact LFS Director Victoria Varga (, Best Novel Awards Committee Chair Michael Grossberg (, or LFS President and Publicity Chair Chris Hibbert (650-968-6319,

For a list of past winners please visit our website at:

All trademarks and copyrights property of their owners.
All else copyright LFS 2003-2014
January 2014