For immediate release: April 14, 2003

Libertarian Futurist Society announces Prometheus Award finalists, and Hall of Fame finalists

The Libertarian Futurist Society has chosen finalists for its annual Prometheus Award for Best Novel and its annual Prometheus Hall of Fame for Classic Fiction. The winners will be announced over the Labor Day weekend in Toronto, Ontario in an awards ceremony at the World Science Fiction Convention.

2003 Prometheus award finalists for Best Novel: (for novels published in 2002)

* Schild's Ladder, by Greg Egan (EOS/HarperCollins)
* Dark Light, by Ken MacLeod (TOR Books)
* Night Watch, by Terry Pratchett (HarperCollins)
* Escape from Heaven, by J. Neil Schulman (
* The Haunted Air, by F. Paul Wilson (Forge Books)

2003 Prometheus Hall of Fame finalists for Best Classic Fiction:
* A Clockwork Orange, a novel by Anthony Burgess
* Requiem, a story by Robert Heinlein
* That Hideous Strength, a novel by C.S. Lewis
* It Can't Happen Here, a novel by Sinclair Lewis
* The Lord of the Rings, a trilogy by J.R. Tolkien

Ten novels were nominated for this year's Prometheus Award for Best Novel. The other nominees were Net Assets by Carl Bussjaeger (self published); The Tyrant, by Eric Flynt and David Drake(Baen Books); Freedom's Ransom, by Anne McCaffrey (Ace/Putnam); Picoverse, by Robert A. Metzger (Berkley Trade); and Coyote, by Allen Steele (ACE/Putnam Books).

About two dozen works were nominated for this years' Hall of Fame award, including novels, short stories, and trilogies on film and in print.

Both awards honor outstanding science fiction/fantasy that explores the possibilities of a free future, champions human rights (including personal and economic liberty), dramatizes the perennial conflict between individuals and coercive governments, or critiques the tragic consequences of abuse of power--especially by the State.

The Prometheus Award, sponsored by the Libertarian Futurist Society (LFS), was established in 1979, making it one of the most enduring awards after the Nebula and Hugo awards, and one of the oldest fan-based awards currently in sf. Presented annually since 1982 at the World Science Fiction Convention, the Prometheus Awards include a gold coin and plaque for the winners.

For more information, including a history of the award winners, visit the LFS website at or contact LFS Director Victoria Varga (, Best Novel Awards Committee Chair Michael Grossberg (, or LFS President and Publicity Chair Chris Hibbert (650-968-6319,

All trademarks and copyrights property of their owners.
All else copyright LFS 2003-2014
January 2014