For release: April 1, 2001

Libertarian Futurist Society announces Prometheus Award finalists for Best Novel

The Libertarian Futurist Society has selected five novels as finalists for its annual Prometheus Award for Best Novel.

The LFS' Best Novel Finalist judging committee has chosen five novels published in 2000 for the 2001 award:

This is the first time that Pratchett and White have been honored as Prometheus Award finalists. Three of the five finalist authors are previous Prometheus Award winners: MacLeod won most recently in 1998 for "The Stone Canal" and in 1996 for "The Star Fraction." Smith won in 1994 for "Pallas" and in 1982 for "The Probability Broach." Flynn won in 1991 for "In the Country of the Blind" and in 1992 for "Fallen Angels" (co-authored by Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle);

Twelve novels were nominated by LFS members for this year's awards. The other nominees were Candle, by John Barnes (TOR Books); The Legend That Was Earth, by James Hogan (Baen Books); Outlaw School, by Rebecca Ore (HarperCollins/EOS); Chimera, by Will Shetterly (TOR Books); Vampire Nation, by Thomas Sipos (; Conspiracies, by F. Paul Wilson (Forge Books); and All the Rage, by F. Paul Wilson (FORGE Books)

The winner will be announced over the Labor Day weekend in Philadelphia in an awards ceremony at the World Science Fiction Convention. This year's Best Novel winner will receive a plaque and a one-ounce gold coin, double the size of previous years.

Meanwhile, the Society will present its annual Prometheus Hall of Fame award for Best Classic Fiction at LFScon, our first national conference, which will be an honored centerpiece May 25-27 of Marcon 36, Ohio's oldest and largest science fiction and fantasy convention, at the Hyatt Regency Hotel and Columbus Convention Center in Columbus, Ohio. A separate Hall of Fame finalist judging committee recently chose five finalists for the 2001 Hall of Fame award: Poul Anderson's Orion Shall Rise; Sinclair Lewis' "It Can't Happen Here"; "The Survival of Freedom", edited by Jerry Pournelle & John Carr; L. Neil Smith's "The Wardove"; or Melinda Snodgrass' "The Measure of a Man" (Star Trek: Next Generation episode)

Both awards honor outstanding science fiction/fantasy that explores the possibilities of a free future, champions human rights (including personal and economic liberty), dramatizes the perennial conflict between individuals and coercive governments, or critiques the tragic consequences of abuse of power-- especially by the State.

The Prometheus Award, sponsored by the Libertarian Futurist Society (LFS), was established in 1979, making it one of the most enduring awards after the Nebula and Hugo awards, and one of the oldest fan-based awards currently in sf. Presented annually since 1982 at the World Science Fiction Convention, the Prometheus Awards include a gold coin and plaque for the winners.

The Hall of Fame, established in 1983, focuses on older classic fiction, including novels, novellas, short stories, poems and plays.Past Hall of Fame awardwinners range from Robert Heinlein and Ayn Rand to Ray Bradbury and Ursula LeGuin.

Last year's Prometheus Award winner for Best Book was Vernor Vinge's "A Deepness in the Sky" (TOR Books). Last year's Prometheus Award Hall of Fame winner for Classic Fiction was Hans Christian Andersen's "The Emperor's New Clothes."

Publishers who wish to submit 2001 novels for consideration should contact Michael Grossberg (614-236-5040,, 3164 Plymouth Place, Columbus OH 43213), Chair of the LFS Prometheus Awards Best Novel Finalist judging committee.

All trademarks and copyrights property of their owners.
All else copyright LFS 2003-2014
January 2014