For immediate release: June 11, 2000

Libertarian Futurist Society announces 2000 Prometheus Award finalists, Hall of Fame finalists

The Libertarian Futurist Society has chosen finalists for its annual Prometheus Award for Best Novel and its annual Prometheus Hall of Fame for Classic Fiction. The winners will be announced over the Labor Day weekend in Chicago in an awards ceremony at the World Science Fiction Convention.

The 1999 Prometheus Award finalists (for the 2000 award):

The 2000 Prometheus Hall of Fame finalists:

Both awards honor outstanding science fiction/fantasy that explores the possibilities of a free future, champions human rights (including personal and economic liberty), dramatizes the perennial conflict between individuals and coercive governments, or critiques the tragic consequences of abuse of power-- especially by the State. 

The Prometheus Award, sponsored by the Libertarian Futurist Society (LFS), was established in 1979, making it one of the most enduring awards after the Nebula and Hugo awards, and one of the oldest fan-based awards currently in sf. Presented annually since 1982 at the World Science Fiction Convention, the Prometheus Awards include a gold coin and plaque for the winners.

The Hall of Fame, established in 1983, focuses on older classic fiction, including novels, novellas, short stories, poems and plays.Past Hall of Fame awardwinners range from Robert Heinlein and Ayn Rand to Ray Bradbury and Ursula LeGuin.

Last year's Prometheus Award winner for Best Book, presented at the Anaheim, Calif. NASFIC, was John Varley's "The Golden Globe" (ACE/Berkley Books). Last year's Prometheus Award Hall of Fame winner for Classic Fiction was H. Beam Piper and John McGuire's "A Planet For Texans" (1958)-- also known as "Lone Star Planet."

Michael Grossberg, New Visions sci-fi book columnist at The Dispatch (Columbus, Ohio), chairs the Prometheus Awards Finalist Judges committee. All LFS Advisory members vote on the Prometheus Award from a list of five finalists selected by a 10-member LFS Prometheus Award Finalist judging committee, based on nominations from the entire LFS membership.]

LFS Director Victoria Varga chaired last year's Prometheus Hall of Fame Finalist Judges committee. All LFS Basic and Advisory members choose the Prometheus Hall of Fame Award from a list of finalists selected by a separate LFS Hall of Fame Finalist judging committee, based on nominations from the entire LFS membership.

The Prometheus Award was founded in 1979 when a group led by L. Neil Smith presented the first award to F. Paul Wilson for Wheels Within Wheels. Other Prometheus winners include Vernor Vinge, Ken MacLeod, James P. Hogan, Brad Linaweaver, Victor Koman, Poul Anderson, J. Neil Schulman Victor Milan, Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle, and Smith (who since 1979 has not been associated with the awards judging.) 

For more information, contact LFS Director Victoria Varga, (716-248-5646), LFS co-founder Michael Grossberg (614-236-5040, or awards ceremony coordinator Fred Moulton (

Publishers who wish to submit 2000 novels for consideration should contact Michael Grossberg (614-236-5040), Chair of the LFS Prometheus Awards Finalist judging committee. Write Grossberg, c/o The Dispatch, 34 S. Third St., Columbus, OH 43215).

The Libertarian Futurist Society's Prometheus award winners

Founded in 1982, the Libertarian Futurist Society sponsors the annual Prometheus Award and Prometheus Hall of Fame, publishes reviews, news and columns in the quarterly "Prometheus", arranges annual awards ceremonies at the Worldcon, debates libertarian futurist issues (such as private space exploration) and provides fun and fellowship for libertarian-SF fans. Here are the past winners of the Prometheus Awards and Hall of Fame:

Past Prometheus Award winners

Past Prometheus Hall of Fame winners

All trademarks and copyrights property of their owners.
All else copyright LFS 2003-2014
January 2014