Volume 29, Number 1, Fall 2010

LFS announces 2011 Hall of Fame Award Finalists

The Libertarian Futurist Society has selected five finalists for the 2011 Hall of Fame Award from 21 nominated narrative and dramatic works. In chronological order, the finalists are:

The winner will be chosen by a vote of the LFS’s membership. The award will be presented at Renovation (Worldcon 69) in Reno, Nevada, to be held August 17-21, 2011.

First awarded in 1983 to Robert Heinlein’s The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress and Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged, the Hall of Fame Award honors classic works of science fiction and fantasy that celebrate freedom or warn against abuses of power. Since 2000, eligible works have included not only novels, but also short stories, films, television series or episodes, graphic novels, musical works, and other narrative and dramatic forms. Last year’s award went to Poul Anderson’s short story “No Truce with Kings” (1963).

LFS Vice President William H. Stoddard chaired the Hall of Fame screening committee. All members of the Libertarian Futurist Society are eligible to serve on it, to nominate classic works for its consideration, and to participate in the final vote.

All trademarks and copyrights property of their owners.
Creative Commons License
Prometheus, the newsletter of the Libertarian Futurists Society, is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.