Volume 28, Number 2-3, Winter-Spring 2010

2010 Prometheus Best Novel Finalists

In March 2010 the Libertarian Futurist Society Best Novel committee selected the finalists for this year’s Prometheus Award in the Best Novel category. The following finalists were selected from a field of 13 novels, all nominated by LFS members.

Hidden Empire, by Orson Scott Card (TOR Books) — The sequel to Card’s Empire (also a Prometheus finalist) covers the emergence of an imperial president and the role of voluntary action in saving human lives. Card has had three previous novels nominated for the Prometheus.

Makers, by Cory Doctorow (TOR Books) — An inspiring story of entrepreneurial competition in the near future. The story makes Schumpeter’s creative destruction visible, and shows how even the poorest can be helped by competition and invention. Doctorow’s Little Brother (TOR Books) won the 2009 Prometheus award.

The Unincorporated Man, by Dani and Eytan Kollin (TOR Books) — This novel explores the idea that education and personal development could be funded by allowing investors to take a share of one’s future income. The story takes a strong position that liberty is important and worth fighting for, and the characters spend their time pushing for different conceptions of what freedom is. This is the first nomination for the Kollin brothers.

Liberating Atlantis, by Harry Turtledove (ROC/Penguin Books) — The third book in Turtledove’s Atlantis trilogy illustrates why people of all colors should be treated equally, and shows slaves in an alternate history demonstrating their humanity by fighting for their rights. Turtledove’s The Gladiator was a Prometheus co-winner in 2008. The first book in the trilogy was a finalist in 2009, and he had one other novel nominated for the award in 1999.

The United States of Atlantis, by Harry Turtledove (ROC/Penguin Books) — The second book in Turtledove’s Atlantis trilogy covers his alternate colonies’ revolution to free themselves from the British crown. This is the first time an author has had two books as Prometheus finalists in a single year.

Since 1982 the Libertarian Futurist Society has presented the annual Prometheus Award for best libertarian novel. The award consists of a one-ounce gold coin on a plaque and is voted upon by members of the LFS.

For a full list of Prometheus Award nominees and information about past winners and nominees, visit the LFS web site, at lfs.org.

Novels published since January 1, 2010 are eligible for consideration for the following year’s Prometheus Award for Best Novel. LFS members may nominate works by contacting the committee chair Michael Grossberg. Authors and publishers also may submit works for consideration and possible nomination. Reviews of nominated books are always welcomed for publication in Prometheus.

The Prometheus Award will be presented at the 2010 WorldCon (Aussiecon IV), to be held in Melbourne, Australia September 2 through 6.

All trademarks and copyrights property of their owners.
Creative Commons License
Prometheus, the newsletter of the Libertarian Futurists Society, is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.