Volume 22, Number 2 (Spring-Summer, 2004)

Wide-Ranging Finalists Mark the 2004 Prometheus Awards

By Michael Grossberg

What works will win this year's Prometheus Awards? The possibilities are especially wide-ranging this year--including a dark-horse write-in candidate. (See related story.) From hard science fiction to fantasy, the Best Book finalists for the 2004 Prometheus Award offer something for almost everyone. Meanwhile, our Hall of Fame finalists for Best Classic Fiction encompass several genres, from novels to a landmark short story and a beloved trilogy. Here are the 2004 Prometheus award finalists for Best Novel, which honor books published in 2003:

And here are the 2004 Hall of Fame finalists for Best Classic Fiction, which honor works published or broadcast more than five years ago, from novels, novellas and stories to plays, poems, films, TV series and episodes and more:

As was done last year, the LFS mailed ballots to all voting members between late May and early June, with a final voting deadline of July 4, 2004.

We hope everyone will read the finalists in both categories and vote this year to make the final choice truly representative of the Libertarian Futurist Society.


Several reviews of some nominees and finalists have already been published in Prometheus, but here are capsule descriptions (alphabetized by author) of the Best Novel finalists in the hope they will intrigue and inspire you to pick up a copy and start reading it now:


Fourteen novels were nominated for this year's Prometheus Award for Best Novel. The other nominees were:

About two dozen works were nominated (or renominated) for this years' Hall of Fame award, including novels, short stories, films and TV shows.

Both awards honor outstanding science fiction/fantasy that explores the possibilities of a free future, champions human rights (including personal and economic liberty), dramatizes the perennial conflict between individuals and coercive governments, or critiques the tragic consequences of abuse of power--especially by the State.


The Prometheus Awards ceremony winners will be presented at the 62nd World Science Fiction Convention, Noreascon Four in Boston, Massachusetts, September 2-6, 2004, with the Best Novel winner receiving a one-ounce gold coin and a plaque and the Hall of Fame winner receiving a smaller gold coin and a plaque.

For more information about the Worldcon, visit www.boston2004.com or contact LFS Vice Chair Fred Moulton (programming@lfs.org), who is coordinating this year's LFS awards ceremony at the Worldcon. Several parties of interest to LFS members are being planned.


Special thanks to the 2003-2004 judges for helping to winnow down the nominees to five finalists in each category. The LFS is looking for volunteers to help choose future finalists. To volunteer, contact Lynn Maners(HallOfFame@lfs.org), chair of the Hall of Fame finalist judging committee; or Michael Grossberg (bestNovelChair@lfs.org), chair of the Best Novel finalist judging committee.

While the Best Novel judging committee often has a waiting list because it must be limited to 10 judges to ensure cooperation by publishers, the Hall of Fame judging committee and the Special Awards committee can have an unlimited membership and are open to all LFS members. Special note to Full members: The LFS Board of Directors recently voted to expand eligibility to serve on the Best Novel judging committee to include Full members (as well as the Benefactor and Sponsor members who traditionally have filled that judging committee.)

All trademarks and copyrights property of their owners.
Creative Commons License
Prometheus, the newsletter of the Libertarian Futurists Society, is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.