Volume 18, Number 3, September 2000

Vinge, Andersen Win Prometheus Awards

The Prometheus Award for best libertarian science fiction novel of 1999 and the Hall of Fame Award for a classic work of fiction were announced at the 2000 Worldcon in Chicago, Illinois. The awards ceremony was held Friday, September 1, at 4:00 P.M.

Nominees for the Prometheus Award were The Martian Race, by Greg Benford; Cradle of Saturn, by James P. Hogan; The Cassini Division, by Ken MacLeod; Cryptonomicon, by Neal Stephenson; and A Deepness in the Sky, by Vernor Vinge. The winner of the award was A Deepness in the Sky. The award was accepted by the author. Nominees for the Hall of Fame Award were "The Emperor's New Clothes," by Hans Christian Andersen; Orion Shall Rise, by Poul Anderson; Mirror Maze, by James R Hogan; It Can't Happen Here, by Sinclair Lewis; and The Wardove, by L. Neil Smith. The winner of the award was "The Emperor's New Clothes."

For the text of the presentation speech and Dr. Vinge's acceptance, see p. 4 of this issue of Prometheus.

All trademarks and copyrights property of their owners.
Creative Commons License
Prometheus, the newsletter of the Libertarian Futurists Society, is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.