Volume 1, Number 3, Summer 1983

The 1983 Finalists

Prometheus Awards to be Presented at Major Ceremony
F. Paul Wilson to do Honors at Worldcon

The Libertarian Futurist Society has selected the finalists for both the Prometheus Award and the Prometheus Hall of Fame. Out of 25 nominees for the Hall of Fame, ten novels were selected. For the Prometheus Award, five finalists were chosen from 22 recent novels.

The five finalists for the Prometheus Award are Robert Heinlein’s Friday, James Hogan’s Voyage from Yesteryear, Fire Dancer by Ann Maxwell, Julian May’s The Many Colored Land, and Oath of Fealty by Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle.

The Hall of Fame finalists, books that have first publication dates that span 30 years, are: Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451: Robert Heinlein’s The Moon is a Harsh Mistress, One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey, Cyril Kornbluth’s The Syndic, The Dispossessed by Ursula Le Guin, Ira Levin’s This Perfect Day, 1984 by George Orwell, Anthem and Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand, and The Great Explosion by Eric Frank Russell.

Also, it has been confirmed, says LFS member Michael Grossberg, that both Prometheus awards will be presented at a major ceremony at the Worldcon in Baltimore, and will be sharing the podium with other prominent awards.

F. Paul Wilson, the author who won the first Prometheus Award in 1979 for Wheels Within Wheels, will be presenting the prizes at the Sunday (September 4th) event. The World Science Fiction Convention, Constellation, will run from Thursday, September 1st, to Tuesday, September 6th.

Final ballots for both awards must be postmarked by August 10th. That isn’t much time to decide, so hurry!

LFS members are reminded that only Advisory members may vote for the Prometheus Award. All members may vote for the Hall of Fame. Ballots may be found inside this issue.

LFS will also be holding a panel discussion at Worldcon. Holding a panel is Brad Linaweaver, who is coordinating LFS Outreach at the convention, will be speaking on Libertarian science fiction. Arthur Hlavaty, nominated once this year for best fan, will talk on “decentralized communications among the anarchy of fandom.” Michael Grossberg will discuss free market approaches to space industrialization. Steve Jackson, editor of Spacegamer magazine, will also be on the panel.

All trademarks and copyrights property of their owners.
Creative Commons License
Prometheus, the newsletter of the Libertarian Futurists Society, is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.