For immediate release: September, 2002

* Libertarian Futurist Society announced the annual winners of the Prometheus Award on August 30 at the San Jose Worldcon. The awards were presented at 4pm in Convention Center Room F in a joint ceremony with the Sidewise Awards.

* Donald Kingsbury won this year's award for Best Novel for "Psychohistorical Crisis".

* Patrick McGoohan won Best Classic Fiction for the TV series "The Prisoner".

At its annual Worldcon award ceremony held on August 30 in San Jose, the Libertarian Futurist Society presented its annual Prometheus Award for Best Novel to Donald Kingsbury's " Psychohistorical Crisis" (Tor) and the award for Best Classic Fiction (the "Hall of Fame" award) to Patrick McGoohan's TV series "The Prisoner".

This was Donald Kingsbury's first Prometheus Award, though not his first nomination for an award from the Libertarian Futurist Society, as his "Courtship Rite" was nominated for the Hall of Fame award in 1998, 1999, and 2000.

Kingsbury's novel takes place in the universe of Isaac Asimov's Foundation trilogy, quite some time after the events of Asimov's series. It is an implicitly libertarian critique of Asimov's books, especially their determinism and political centralization. The story is a clever, complex, suspenseful and insightful dramatization of the limits of centralized knowledge.

The other finalists (incidentally, all from Tor Books this year) in the voting for the 2002 Prometheus Award were:

* Falling Stars, by Michael Flynn
* Enemy Glory, by Karen Michalson
* The American Zone, by L. Neil Smith
* Hosts, by F. Paul Wilson

Ten novels were nominated by LFS members for this year's Prometheus. The other nominees were Dune: House Corrino, by Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson (Bantam Spectra), Martian Knightlife, by James Hogan (Baen Books), The Tranquility Wars by Gentry Lee (Bantam Spectra), Cosmonaut Keep, by Ken MacLeod (TOR Books), and The Free Lunch, by Spider Robinson (TOR Books).

"The Prisoner" is the first winner of the Hall of Fame that wasn't a novel, a short story, or a collection. McGoohan's series follows "Number 6", an ex-spy imprisoned in "The Village" as he tries to find out who is holding him. The series explored many themes surrounding individual rebellion in surveillance societies, and is widely considered one of TV's best ever.

The other finalists for the Classic award were:

* Anthony Burgess, "A Clockwork Orange" (novel),
* Robert A. Heinlein, "Requiem" (short story),
* Sinclair Lewis, "It Can't Happen Here" (novel), and
* J. R. R. Tolkein, The Lord of the Rings (trilogy of novels).

The Prometheus awards for Best Novel, Best Classic Fiction (Hall of Fame) and (occasional) Special awards honor outstanding science fiction/fantasy that explores the possibilities of a free future, champions human rights (including personal and economic liberty), dramatizes the perennial conflict between individuals and coercive governments, or critiques the tragic consequences of abuse of power--especially by the State.

The Prometheus Award, sponsored by the Libertarian Futurist Society was established in 1979, making it one of the most enduring awards after the Nebula and Hugo awards, and one of the oldest fan-based awards currently in science fiction. Presented annually since 1982 at the World Science Fiction Convention, the Prometheus Awards include a gold coin and plaque for the winners.

The Hall of Fame, established in 1983, focuses on older classic fiction, including novels, novellas, short stories, poems and plays. Past Hall of Fame award winners range from Robert Heinlein and Ayn Rand to Ray Bradbury
and Ursula LeGuin.

Publishers who wish to submit 2003 novels for consideration should contact Michael Grossberg (614-236-5040,, 3164 Plymouth Place, Columbus OH 43213), Chair of the LFS Prometheus Awards
Best Novel Finalist judging committee.

Founded in 1982, the Libertarian Futurist Society sponsors the annual Prometheus Award and Prometheus Hall of Fame; publishes reviews, news and columns in the quarterly "Prometheus"; arranges annual awards ceremonies
at the Worldcon, debates libertarian futurist issues (such as private space exploration); and provides fun and fellowship for libertarian-SF fans.

A list of past winners of LFS awards can be found on the LFS web site at

All trademarks and copyrights property of their owners.
All else copyright LFS 2003-2014
January 2014