Volume 3, Number 3, Summer, 1985


Award Ceremony Set

Members of the Libertarian Futurist Society have chosen five finalists for the 1985 Prometheus Award and ten finalists for the Hall of Fame award. The Prometheus Award finalists are Gordon Dickson's The Final Encyclopedia, Lee Correy's Manna, Vernor Vinge's The Peace War, F. Paul Wilson's The Tomb, and L. Neil Smith's Tom Paine Maru.

Finalists for the Hall of Fame, which have first publication dates spanning decades, include Poul Anderson's Trader to the Stars, Eric Frank Russell's The Great Explosion. Ursula K. Le Guin's The Dispossessed, Ken Kesey's One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest, and Robert Silverberg's A Time of Changes. (The complete list can be found on page 6 of this newsletter.)

Members have until August 15 to send their ballots to the Prometheus editorial offices.

The Prometheus Award ceremony, to be held this year at the North American Science Fiction Convention, has been tentatively scheduled for August 31 at 2PM in the main ballroom of the Hyatt Regency in Austin, Texas.

The presentation by the Libertarian Futurist society will be right before the fan and artist [garbled --Ed.] for the revelry at the SF Con in Austin. Guest of honor speeches will highlight a two hour program.

The awards are usually presented at World Science Fiction Convention. This year, because the Worldcon will be held in Australia, the NASFIC, in Austin from August 30 to September 2, will host the awards.

If you plan to attend the ceremony please check this information when you arrive as SF convention schedules are notoriously changeable. For further and more current NASFiC news contact Michael Grossberg at (619) 242-4899.

Prometheus Award

Hall of Fame

All trademarks and copyrights property of their owners.
Creative Commons License
Prometheus, the newsletter of the Libertarian Futurists Society, is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.